my bike is 3 speed:
2004-01-10 - 2:27 a.m.

jazz, instumental, soul jacker.

�life is funny / but not ha ha funny / peculiar I guess / you think I got it going my way / then why am I such a fuckin� mess?� �Eels, �3 Speed�

Packages came today. a full livingroom set, though we already had what I�d consider a well-furnished living space. In the boxes left by UPS, a table and two chairs. Slowly packed up everything from my side-part of the livingroom, the space proximal to the bookcase. I will not be living here next year, I feel it�s just to crowded with these two (roommate and I). While going through my stuff en masse for the fourth time this year, I open a hand-sized tin of coins. Not a collector by any means, I just pick things up here and there. Half-dollar with Independence Hall on the back instead of the eagle �200 years of freedom�. A second, silver, 1967. And a third, for comparison purposes only, though I used to have more, used to really like these coins when I was a kid, because they were just the right size for my hand, big enough to draw a child�s tactile attention from the other coins. Single deutsche mark. Two quarter dollars from 1776, drummer boy on the back. 2$ Canadian coin, from when they had bears on the back. Gold-looking dollar from 2000, shinny. A reminder that everything common today will be rare tomorrow. Arabian something-or-other with a straight-winged bird on the back. Token from the Wild Wing Caf� �the fun factory�, which I don�t actually think I went to. Two pennies, one wheat (1947) because my daud used to collect them, and this one I took, when his mug overflowed with them, and the other �GEORGIVS VIDEI GRATIA REX�, 1951 Canadian, which reminds me of a similar penny, that had a seagul on the back. The rest are squashed pennies from different states, one of which used to be the penny with the bird on the back, but I�m not sure which one. and some kind of Greek token from 1964, given to me when I atarted working in NY, mistaken for a nickel. I feel a little like the guy on the movie 'Push Mama From The Train' in that these are not valuable coins. Not even to me. But they are unique, to me. And I recognize that as a property of a thing with is worth holding on to.

On the coldest day of Troy NY, I get home late because my car does not warm up. Drive with a freezing steering wheel, first one finger, then the next, while warming the pentet of runner-ups. Chris has a DVD player from christmas, and cannot sleep for he is out of cigarettes, of which I have extras in my pocket. So we sit, and watch �Amelie� after . I laugh at the gnome*. I share in the smile that she only uses as she turns toward the camera. I laugh at me, laughing at the girl, talking to the blind man, telling him that the baby watches the dog that watches chickens, and then it strikes me. Regardless of whether Lucy has seen this movie or not, she loves it.

Received this email from a someone at my first college: �Lifting the drive-thru girl to put her in the garbage. She was giving me lip.�

On telemarketers. Demand of dick always be higher than the supply yo. Otherwise, we�d go outta business. And if we went outta business, the human race would just up and die out. Business been hard these last couple years tho, what with all the new L�beans and all, so we had to increase our so-licit-ations by twen�y five p�cent. Not that it really did much, mind ya, but it sure as hell cleaned out the warehouses. This last year, we wasn�t sellin� �nough product again, so we upped the advertisement of dick by puttin� it everywhere. Seems now everywhere you look, there be dick. We put up dick on street poles, and restaurant tables, on the sides of busses and highways (and that was pretty hard, because we had to buy �em billboards from the people sellin� titties) until dick was just another household name. We even got a spot on channel 83, so whenever people need dick at a quick and affordable price, they don�t even need to get up from their chair, they just reach out; and that�s the way god intended it, after all. Here a dick, there a dick, everywhere else, a prick prick. Dick-shaped bars of soap were an instant favourite in the prisons of this lovely country, and the dick-shaped lamp shades hit it off in the jungles of suburbia (where they use drive dick-shaped cars) as well as in the more rusticy ones (where they have �em huge metal dicks for keepin� corn). Some talk of namin� the planet after a dick, �cuz we been so successful at distribution, we might as well own the planet, but then there�s so many names for dick, we just couldn�t decide. �scuse me mam, would you enjoy a nice dick on this fine day, for only 59 cent? No, well I�ll give ya the trial version anyways. Can�t get a better deal than that anywere, can ya!

Jan10th2:13am. I do not work today. And that may be the best news that�s come to Mynd in a good long time.

Jazz is good thinking music. When you're listening to classical, you think about the song itself. think about the notes. Think about the things that made it happen. Jazz, you think about yourself. Think about other people. Think about the drifting space between the things that are things.

*and wonder what it was like for the guy who wields the metal detector at customs, and did the gnome have to take off his hat, to prove he was not smuggling artichokes (let alone the other types of -chokes that will fit in a clever gnome�s hat!)?

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!