I'd hate to be the pizza boy that delivers to Hell
2002-03-23 - 2:06 p.m.

Didn�t get the RA position, and wasn�t asked to be an alternate. Note: this means that there was something horribly wrong with my application/me. It was a surprising sort of rejection, considering that the head RD seemed to be all over hiring me and my interview went off fine. Fuck �em.

Revelation: Come to think of it, Jim Henson was a god. He didn�t just invent funny little (and some big) puppets; he made characters. Timeless.

Unmentioned Note (concerning buses) I just have to learn that not everyone I meet and like is part of some elaborate long-term relationship. Not everyone I meet needs to laugh and be laughed.

Wrestling James (guy in my suite) on Monday, he�s got about 75 pounds on me now, and this time he won a couple rounds. Bruises and scrapes, because we were wresting on a tiled/contrete floor in his room, rather than on the not-so-fluffy carpet. Afterward, I felt a little funny, and coughed up some blood from the back of my throat. Not too much, just enough to discolour my spit. Supossedly, this is when the bacterial infection set in. The next night, I went to sleep early (midnight) because I realized I was sick. Fire alarm at 12:30am that lasted until 3:30am...standing in the cold. Fortunately for someone else, I grabbed a couple pairs of extra socks on my way out. The worst part of it all was the reason that we had to stand outside: although the popcorn had been removed from the microwave (or whatever else it happened to be), the little red light (the one that tells you not to go into the building) was stuck �on� and they had to wait for a before-crack-ass-of-dawn electrician to come and fix it. Evidently, the RDs �don�t have the authority� to hit the breaker box, or unscrew the bulb. The next night, I went to sleep early again, and was aroused again at 12:30 by six drunk guys in our suite trying to pick a fight. They said that someone had stolen two beers from them, and they wanted to fight to �figure it all out� [extremely paraphrased, of course] But they didn�t want to fight James [see above] because he was too big, or Falcone [see below] who�s even bigger. Eventually the whole situation was neutralized, mostly due to Falcone talking semi-rationally to people rather than James� threats or Falcone�s use of �big words�. The next morning I woke up slightly late for my 8am class, tired and more sick than I have been since...the last time I hired a strepper for my throat. Came back to room between classes to find it flooded wit toilet water...fortunately I took the clue early on to keep my surge protector off the ground (it�s hanging on one of the legs of my desk). Fridary was a blur, but Frinight Nikki and I froze our asses off in Chinatown, looking for cheap fans and cloth. I bought cheap ink and bamboo brushes to keep myselves occupied in the summer. It�s Saturday, and I�m feeling a little better (this may be partly due to cool fishie boxers), but I have slightly more work todo than I would like...Solution: just do my work and widdle it down to the point that I would like.

Odd. It seems my skin is turning grey faster than my hair. Must be something in the water...but I haven�t had tap water in months...violently against bottled water because of what it is. So, must be something in my coke.

Sneaky. Like a sneaker. Or like a sneaky sneaker simile, sneaking past those who have sneaked. So, there�s Mosaic, the online literary magazine that I�ve been pushing for this semester to fill up spare time. Would have rather done blood drying times, but I figure there�s always next year. The technology Dean had a meeting with Don, I, and the creative writing teacher yesterday, to tell us that we need to institute policies beyond what we have been. It started out as just a class thing. Then anyone on campus could contribute to it. The logic is that since anyone on campus is able to submit to it, it�s a representation of the school, and therefore the school is partly responsible for anything offensive on it. And therefore, they can use it as a marketing tool. Not that there�s too much wrong with that, but it has the potential to mess up that �freedom of expression� thing later on. Not while I�m editor. So, that�s the shiligilig, and here�s the shiligilo: I have recently received a request to sneak around and purchase a domain name for the site that redirects the viewer to Mosaic. It�s a shady business, trying to express yourself.

Related Note: This also means that I have to finalize the submissions and layouts of the e-zine (of which there will also be a printed copy) in the next couple days.

Asked Nikki in mid-week what the typical process is for a guy to find a girlfriend (specifically without being friends first). I can�t lead myself to believe that it�s newspaper ads or date services. One guy suggested to me that being drunk (and loud) has always worked for him. Gotta get the loud part in there, he says.

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!