chopsticks can dance
2001-11-17 - 8:28 p.m.

And you could keep all the pink ones in yer pocket / and the blue ones on the shelf / because we�ll be like best friends again / and you won�t need those pills / while I�m around

�Although if you follow creation theory we're all claymation characters to begin with.� -Leah

�Element, cause, rule. Interchangeable. There are four elements, four causes, four rules by which the universe spins. And these are known as earth, water, wind and fire. Fire being the most holy of the four, the supreme rule. Fire is the currency by which the other causes can be bought. Fire is the energy that spins the wheel. The being of wind is the momentum of the process, the ability to spin. Wind is the center of the wheel and the space between the spokes. The being of water is the medium between the causes of wind and earth, flexible yet necessary. Water is the spokes of the wheel. Earth is the construct, the rule which the element of water is able to turn. Earth is the spokes of the wheel. That is how a universe spins in the ancient.
A universe is then created by these rules, that there must be presence of all four...the earth for the mechanics, to provide the materials; the water for the function of those mechanical processes; the wind to fill the ventricles and open spaces, to give a soul and character to the creation; and the fire to grant it purpose in that which it does.
In later times, the rules we renamed to be known not as earth, water, wind and fire, but as matter, dynamics, space, and energy; the body, superego, ego and id. But these are the rules by which the collectives* play. And we, my friend, are not limited to dabbling in their sandboxes.� -Simon

It is starting to be apparent to Simon that communication is not the primary necessity [concern] of the human race. Humans may live without forms of communication, even if it is a lowly and pathetic form of life, given a long period of time. If correct, this philosophy will shatter the ground that Simon has been laying in his All-Encompasing Theory Of...Everything (TM).

Related Sidenote: I�ve started talking to myselves again, seeing people out of the corner of my eye...it seems that even in a crowded place, one can be lonely.

I used to think that seeing myself again, for the first time, would be sorta like the taste of Kellogg�s (TM). But it turned out to be much more like a slap in the face.

[Just another] Friday: Stayed at work until 4:30, just Don and I for the last half-hour. He made a comment about my being overly smart for this school...and it actually meant something to me, because, after all, it�s Don. He mentioned maybe being enrolled in two different colleges and not telling anyone, but I really don�t have the vehicle fer that. Outside, I looked up at the sky, and it was flaming. Burning in that way that everyone attempts to describe, but find they can never give justice to. And it made me sort of doubt what Don had said, about me wasting my life here. This place can be beautiful...and then I looked at the ground. At my feet lay an overused surgical glove; off to the side of the road, the trash from a McDonald�s #9 Value Meal (TM). And I realized that everyone can see the sky...but I was looking at it from the view of a slum in the middle of nowhere (that finds it convenient to call itself a college). About this time, getting lost jumped up to the top of my 2do list. We walked off the asphalt, through a thin cover of trees, and down a hill, just my hopes, my doubts, and I. In front of us was the backside of some sort of exclusive club for people that want to lift weights and play tennis. I didn�t get it either. Ripped a power cable off of a nearby discarded electrical instrument and climbed a pole on the side of the building. I was expecting to see the sky a little more clearly...to experience a view just a little more breathtaking. But by the time I got up on the roof, the sky had been replaced by dark trees on a steep hill. We stood up there for a bit, thinking. My hopes slipped off the roof and my doubts stayed there, while I climbed back down to the prison that is Mount Ida. Small abrasions on each palm, and a little on my right forearm, from sliding down the pole carelessly. On my way back to the dorms, a public safety official asked to see my ID. They�re really bent on making it seem like I need to ask before I wipe my ass. I don�t think I�m in the �wrong� place per say, because I remember my reasons for choosing this college and can�t bring myself to regret that decision, because it�s my life. But that doesn�t mean that it wasn�t a bad choice.

*those that agree to live in a single reality (Jung), which is formed from a society, which is formed from the willingness of people to give up power to benefit a group (Hobbes).

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!