I discovered something old
2001-10-27 - 11:55 a.m.

I decided to start a new chapter in my life today. I think I�ll call it �days of the old�. Hopefully, it will be old and improved.

Spent several hours today cleaning and rearranging Nikki�s roomates� room. She was pist when she got back and discovered that she could see her floor. Granted, we uncovered a rather unsightly wannabee-indian-style carpet, but sometimes I just don�t get that girl.

There are people that talk to themselves, even while other people are around. You�ve seen them at parties...the ones who will tell you that their favourite letter is I, and their favourite word is the same. When they start to say something, and you cut them off, they continue with the same line of conversation, as if you�d never said a thing. Like a severed worm that grows another head as soon as you can cut it off. I look at myself in the mirror, and see me becoming one of these...part of Generation I.

After I got pist last night, I headed over to the college presidente�s house to ask her a few questions. When in doubt, go to the highest power. I think she was really impressed with the manner in which I pointed out that the school doesn�t have a mission statement (or just happened to conveniently leave it out of all their literature). I highlighted some things that she had written in a �welcome to our college� note to the student body that broadly contradicted what the student development office was telling me. She told me she�s get back to me.

To the red crayon / in the fifth galaxy / on the right / of the fishbowl: / why do you tempt me so?

Couldn�t get to sleep. Got up and took a shower at 4am. Shaved my head between lunch and teatime today.

There were some things that I did/thought yesterday but didn�t post them because I was rather not myself yesterday. For historical purposes, I�ll list them here:

I hate to say it, but I miss Margaret and Ida. In the sense that they made my anatomy class worthwhile...there isn�t anyone who is quite so entertaining this year, and it�s driving me nuts. *sigh*

Played in the sand with Ayako. Right after we chased a squirrel into the bushes.

The Thanksgiving plan: leave school at 9pm on November20. Get to South station via the T, or hang around Boston until 1am, at which point I will meet Mitch and his mother. Go back to his house in Maine; have mucho fun. Maybe see sum Lucy, maybe see sum Mum.

Before I propose a marriage, I�ll convince my mate that there�s no sense in buying an expensive rock to put on her finger. If she really wants a ring, she can go out and buy one after we get married, and if she really wants a rock, I�ll get her a $3000 chunk of granite to hang around a necklace (or maybe she could just chain it to her leg). Stoopid social contingencies...what I really want is a[nother] girl that is intelligent enough to think of a tattoo wedding ring. A[nother] girl who stands 5�3� with grey eyes and supercute expressions. No, what I really want is someone to define to me the concepts of �only once in a lifetime� and �you blew it�, because I just don�t understand this American slang stuff.

New advancement: We can't have dances at this college. In the past, they typically have ended when people got arrested (which, I might add, happened at all of the dances held last year). So I missed the fun stuff. There will be no Holloween celebrations, and I think the admin is frowning on trick-or-treating as well. The only way they'll allow a dance is if "something changes", but they're not giving the students the chance to change. I'd be pist, but this is the point where I just give up.

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!