picnic baskets and boo-boos
2001-09-05 - 7:51 p.m.

I live with lemmings. I got out of my second class on Tuesday to see twenty students huddled up near the door of the building, waiting for the rain to stop. As soon as a saw it, I knew exactly what had happened, and I pitted the human race for it�s association with such easily influenced people. One person, wearing a white shirt, probably decided to wait for the rain for a short time. Her friend, wanting to talk to her about something, stopped and waited as well. A guy, motivated by god-knows-what-part-of-his-endocrine system, decides to stick around for a bit. Everyone else, seeing a whole three people stopped in front of the door, assumes that the apocalypse has come and the devil is waiting outside to grab their souls (or at least give them a bible). And even in the class, people became very distraught about a moth flying around the classroom. A couple people thought it was a butterfly, and starting to say it was cute...but when someone pointed out it was a moth, the bimbos went frantic. I told them that the only noticeable difference between the two critters is the coluoration and attachment orientation of the wings (no, I didn�t mention the fuzzy antenae), but no one seemed to be listening. As I passed the athletic centre, I noted about 15 football players huddled in front of the door as if the sky was falling. And I casually wondered which one was the Chicken Little.

I actually have homework today...my psychology class is turning out to be more of a challenge than I thought it�d be. I got some books for our semester research paper from the library, and I have to check my topic with the instructor tomorrow: neo-skinnerism (yes, I found a book that actually uses the term that I made up way back in the �what was� chapter). I�m predicting this project will greatly influence Simon�s �All-Encompassing Theory of...Everything�.

I met the third Musketeer. Ya see, there used to be these three guys on campus, Jesse, Scott and Tod. Everyone called them the three musketeers, because...there were three of �em. And then Jesse got a girlfriend, Melissa. For a while, she was playing the D�Artagnan role for a bit, but eventually the structure broke down and they became a foursome. I�d say Jesse is the ex-pirate, Scott is the former monk, and Tod is the...the cool one who�s from Maine. So it was his birthday, and there was much candy cigarettes, brandy, vodka, and goldfish to be had. I made several good attempts to get a goldfish down Melissa�s shirt, and it spawned a small fishfood fight. I met some people in Tod�s room, most of which I already knew from one place or another. I snagged some scotch tape from his room and concealed it on my lower arm just before then party was moved outside. As I needed to tape up some things in my room, I used an x-atco knife to cut tape from my arm and then rolled it. Unfortunately, I pressed down a bit hard, and ended up with chicken scratches at regular intervals down the inside of my arm. It looks a lot worse than it is. It was slightly after this that I gave Tod his birthday present, one of my Hary balls. For those of you that have read all the entries in here, you�ll know that a Hary ball is a tennis ball with magic-marker faces on each side. The ball is bounced and �read� much like a magic 8-ball, and makes a nice stress reliever as well. When most of the group went back up to Tod�s room, the Hary Ball Drinking Game was invented...if you got the :o (surprised) face, you had to take a drink of vodka. Before the game, I had already taken four swigs and during the game I snuck another three. From the actual game, I think I had to drink three times...all in all, I ended up drinking about a half-bottle of 100proof. On my way back to my room, I could feel myself getting friendly, and noticed that I was taking detours to talk to people and say hi; introducing myself to strangers in front of the building as well as across the hall. I couldn�t get much sleep because I was too entertained that I was seeing double after I got back to my room. Couldn�t help but think: �dude. *this* is how a dumb person views the world.� And couldn�t help but amaze myself with every little thing I saw. There probably wont be drinking again for a long time...I justified this one because Tod had just turned 21 and it�s...tradition. Er sumthing.

Boredom struck at 1am this morning. And I responded by striking the road. I don�t mean to say that quality time with hot-top isn�t a good thing every now and then, but I wouldn�t recommend kissing it. After you kiss it, the asphalt is gonna want more and more...and after all, there are only so many potholes. My original; intent was to search myself and discover how I wanted my own funeral to be set up. How I want to be remembered. I did walk around in a Jewish cemetery, but ended up running my hands across the Jewish lettres and stars, not thinking all that much, and just enjoying the trip. Got to a Star Market, maybe in the West Roxbury / East Dedham area. There were a couple shopping cart sitting on the side of the street, so I decided to adopt them for college-campus-shopping-cart-drag-racing activities. Cops drove by, and I decided that the larger of the two carts had to be left behind, because that I could move faster with only one. Bumped my knees on the moving gate thingy lots on the way back.

Revelation: Everything that is You can be summed up by your metal defects and an idea of what you do with your spare time. Nothing else can be so personal to an individual.

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!