just add water
2001-08-29 - 11:31 p.m.

College: Day6. Nothing works. General rule. The laundry machines on campus don�t take quarters, so you have to have a card. I loose $5 in the laundry-card machine (eventually, they posted it as �out of order�). No big problem, because I can borrow someone else�s card and pay them back, eh? I borrowed Evie�s card and went to do my laundry. First machine is busted, so I take the soap-covered clothes from one machine to the other. Next machine is busted. There�s only two washing machines. I asked Aaron if I might be doing something stupid, but it turns out that I�m not, and no one else has gotten these machines to work. So I went upstairs, and the machines worked there...clothes have been successfully washed, and I get points. *point-getting noise* But Evie�s card is down to a quarter in credit, and I need to dry clothes as well...asked CJ, asked Rich, asked everyone else I know, including some people I didn�t. Asked people in the hall if they had a laundry card that I could borrow, and no one did. Some people didn�t even know we needed cards to do laundry. So, I did one of the few things that will get you out of any unlucky situation (and, being a PhD in the Occurance of Odd situations, I should know)...I got unreasonably lost. You see, whenever I get completely and utterly lost, I end up being at the right place/time that I need to be, because once you�re nowhere, the most unlucky thing that can happen to you is to be somewhere. At least, I tried to get lost. I failed in my grueling attempts, even though I did everything short of closing my eyes and spinning in circles. I just gave up and went back to the laundry room to hang my clothes up. I�ll be smelling like laundry detergent this week *unnecessary applause*.

Had a dream last night. This suggests that I�ve become more comfortable with the environment that I sleep in...at least, I�m sorta hoping it does. The dream was about my computer monitor going all swirly and imploding/exploding in front of me, sending shards of glass up through the back of my head. It more concentrated on the beauty of the swirling colours than the explosion...I think I must have squeezed my eyes shut for part of the explosion. But really, I can�t pity my dream self for this...he was given fair warning. And if the back of the monitor starts to smoke or turn black in places, be sure that I won�t be writing in my diary fer a while. End dream.

We dun�t have enough dilithium college textbooks, cap�n! They�re sending books back to the publishers soon, if they don�t get adopted by heartful/mindless students such as myselves. So I asked a couple people if they had some money I could borrow, but no one did, and then I just decided that I was making more of an issue of it than was there. Sure, it�s important to buy my books really soon, but tearing my tiny headhairs out about it isn�t going to help anything. At least parents aren�t charging me interest on books, and I just have to pay them back. With my newfound Taoism I skipped supper and walked around campus with Evie-girl. Picked some greenish apples right from a tree and munched on the way to nowhere. Was very relaxing.

Sidenote: I�ve got nineteen credit hours, assignments in every class, and haven�t bought my books yet.

College: Day5. I woke up to a typical Monday morning. Unfortunaely, everyone else was bent on the idea that today is/was Tuesday instead. So I conformed and rewired myself into Tuesday Mode (TM) and got to my first Tuesday class ever-so-slightly late. Anatomy and Physiology, taught by Mr. Chiropractor. There were shivers dancing on my spine and ecstasy shooting out of my ears by the middle of the introductory class, because Mr. Chiropractor actually likes/loves what he�s teaching. He suggested reading multiple texts, and I thought I was gonna blow my heart right out the back of my cervical vertebrae. Everyone else was grumbling about even having to read the textbook. The, text...book. The book in which the text for the class can be found. Tsktsk. For some reason, I think that most of these people aren�t in college by their own choice, for their own excitement and fulfillment. Damn you, Mr. Rabbit, your twitching nose is annoying.

I added a psychology class into my schedual. But that�s not the point...the point is that this really cute girl is working over at the administrative office. Young as nineteen, old as twenty-two, but not cute in the short-and-sweet-casually-sucking-on-her-pinky-cute, as you�re probably thinking. More like librarian cute, in the way librarians are. I was gonna wish her a �bestest day� already having wished her a �nice� day the first time I went in to change my schedual, but the line was a tadpole long and turning into a full-blown frog...I feel rather sorry for her, because she�s trying to suit the needs of over a thousand college students that all seem dumb as rocks and/or brick walls.

Was sitting around one of the dorms with CJ, and couldn�t help but watch the technician at my college explain to people what a network card is for. He had his hands rather full, so I went and helped a few people out with their NIC installations. After my third one, I came back down the stairs and poke fun at Don (Mr. head techie), saying that I was gonna go to lunch, unless he was lookin� ta hire someone. Turns out, he is/was, and now I�ve got my work study filled. Problem is, I�ve already pretty much signed up for computer-lab-monitor-person and algebra-and-below-math-tutoring. I need to get a watch.

Hung out in Aaron�s room after class [ended at 8:45pm]. Talked with people for a bit, and then Aaron and I spontaneously went into the 206 bones of the human body, even though I took anatomy as a junior and he took it as a senior [so neither of us should remember anything about it]. I bet him that the second cervical vertebrae was the axis, but then we went into the endocrine system, and he remembered quite a bit more than me. Mary made the comment that someone was �good friend material�. I asked her if good friend material was play-dough, and everyone agreed that it was. And then I retired to my room to write up the notes for the anatomy class, brush my teeth, and curl up with my lonely selves in bed.

Sidenote: For a fun error message, get into a hotmail account, do not select/check any mail, and push delete. Evidently Microsoft hasn�t gotten around to telling you what the problem with such an action would be.

It�s so easy to make people look. Stop, turn, exclaim. You could say holyshit or ohmygod, depending on how short you wear your skirts, but either way the careless passer-by is going to be forced to look. And once you have their attention, you say �jesus...did you see that?�. Of course...being the na�ve subject they are, and seeing nothing, they�ll ask �what?�. Then you know you have �em in yer palm, as you deny ever having seen anything (because, of course, you didn�t see anything unusual in the first place). They persist. Eventually, you hit them with an introduction, usually with a side order of handshakes. Ask what her friend�s name is, the next day. Sit down with said friend, mentioning her by name as you do so. Eventually, a �who are you� is inevitable. *open-mouth pause* �You mean, you don�t remember last night? Ricky-Ticky and the wobblers? Well, not that I blame you, I told you not to make the strapps to tight...� Of course, person number one is in on the whole thing, and trying not to laugh. Humans are so easy.

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!