i grow red hair on my head because it�s lucky
2001-08-02 - 8:58 a.m.

Sidenote: It seems I had a little run-in with the wall, and gotta bump/cut on my forehead. Pity.

I dropped an ice cube in the sink, blew across it where it had touched, and then plopped it into my drink. And for several minutes afterward, I was entirely caught up in my reasoning for blowing on the ice cube. The surface of the ice cube is wet, so any �dirt� touching the ice cube is most likely going to stick and stay were it is. Beyond that, the ice cube is nothing but water (which was what I was drinking at the time), and there�s another 18-pack of frozen waters in the freezer. So why salvage the �dirty� cube? I came to the conclusion, eventually, that it�s a gesture of good luck or good blessing. I bless the ice cube, knowing that it�s not getting any cleaner, but hoping that it wouldn�t do anything evil to me once I allow it into my system. This is done in the same manner as throwing spilt salt over one�s shoulder...a traditional gesture. But have you ever wondered what someone would do if they went to throw the salt, and it stuck to their hand, because they had spilled a bit of coffee as well too? Maybe they�d just go straight to unlucky-land. But if they�ve spilled both salt and coffee, there�s a good chance that they�re already there, eh? My solution, of course, would be to blow on the salt.

Related Sidenote: last time I went to the dentist, he asked me if I had been eating anything especially grainy. Of course, I asked his �how grainy?� and he said something on the order of sand and/or gravel. At the time, I thought he was making a reference to my newly self-filed-down tooths. But he might have been asking about that blessed dirt I�ve been eating in my lunch.

I really enjoy the song �Keegan�s Christmas�, if nothing else but for the last line.

They says yer face will get stuck that way, if you frown too much. But how long does it take a face to freeze in a permanent expression? Surely, the person that frowns long enough to establish a perma-frown has already frowned enough in their lifetime so as to simulate the same effect as a frozen-on frown. And even though he frowned in old age, and he frowned when he was lowered into the ground, the people that knew him best knew that he was smiling. They knew that true smiles can be seen through frowns, and frowns through smiles...

Tip#11: When you don�t know what something is, say that it�s modern art. Unless it�s an ink-blot test. In which case you can always say that you see the face of Christ Almighty (TM)...and that it really must be true, what they say about Jewish guys.

Woke up and got out of the shower by five-of-the-clock this morning. Two-point-five-minus hours sleep. And for some reason, I thought that it felt �really good to feel like myself again�. I had been sleeping too much; hadn�t been doing enough pushups, not getting enough coke. And in the shower, I gave a ponder to the idea that maybe people who keep in good physical shape don�t need as much sleep as those that don�t.

Father: �You haven�t been outside much at all this summer.�
Me: *thinks about saying that most of his friends are in a constant state of urgent business or mysterious sickness* �Yea�.
Father: �But you really should. There�s a whole word out there.�
Me: *smiling* �Ha. I refuse to believe you until I see it with my own eyes...and until then, I�ll keep the blinds closed.� [Such is the stubbornness of the mind]

Watched �Trainspotting� last night. Puts a whole new meaning into the phrase 'lay the smak down', ya know? I�ve said before that �Pi� is my favourite movie...but �Trainspotting� comes in as a distant second, mostly due to accents and characters that can easily be related to. No, I�m not a heroin addict...but the scenes of stealing the TV from the old folk�s home, and breaking into cars...of standing before a judge and knowing that they only know half the story, wanting to tell them everything you�ve done, just for the glory of it all...well, I suppose I�ve never done those things either.

The following never happened, and never will:
I stood at the podium, mumbling to myself.
A man stood up from the crowd and hollered �who are you, to tell me what to believe?�
I extended my hands, now covered in dried blood; and said �I am�.
I lifted up my red hair to reveal a ring of scratches and holes, nearly healed; and said �I am�.
I removed my shirt and pointed to a spear gash in my side; and said �I am a simple man, with simple ideals.�

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!