No More Zwiebacking
2001-05-27 - 11:52 p.m.

Listening to: Kermit the Frog, The Rainbow Connection

I walked out of a store today, and had paid for everything in my possession. It felt good, in a weird sort of way. On my way back, I dropped off all but three of my cloves in an alleyway with a �smoke me� sign as their only companion. Too bad I missed church this morning, eh? There was something that snapped...I realized that I was just another person supporting the �coolness� of smoking, even if that wasn�t my real intent. Kids look at you the same way, weather you�re just out for an honest stroll er trying to corrupt their virgin minds. In some ways, it might be more convincing [the stroll, I mean]. Not like I�m gonna go and delete all my mp3s...but if�n I live to be that old, I might make a pretty good parent some day...and that matters more to me than a buzz on a street corner.

An hour er so later: There was this girl, and she wanted something from this guy. Just a smoke, just a puff. To get what she wanted, she pretends. She pretends, and he believes, for a whole second, but that�s enough. And where once he had three cloves, he now has none. Sometimes I think even if I had money I�d be broke[n].

They says it�s the thought that counts. But what number does it count to? Maybe a thought is just a different type of abacus.

When you give someone a dollar, you�re really handing a green slipp of Trust. The function of currency o in any society is to catalogue and control the distribution of Trust. When you buy a CD, you Trust that the music is of good quality, and the music is good. You give an appreciable amount of Trust to your government on the Ides of April, because you want them to return the Trust through protective services, road construction, and national security. Money flows to responsible people and drug lords because those are the people that other people Trust. If we didn�t Trust them to rule the world, why would we give them the means to do so?

I don�t pretend to know what you�ve been though, what you�re life�s been like. All I know is how your mind werks now, in the present, and that isn�t enough to tell me anything about whom you really are. So do me the pleasure of indulging me, if�n yer the indulging type.

Some mothers-of-three would disagree violently with me, but I do believe human infants do not eat other people. It might be that their teeth are maldeveloped for such activity, but I�ve never witnessed a baby take a chunk of flesh out of someone�s shoulder. This sugests that it is not inborn to our human minds to be cannibals. I�m starting to see the vegetarian prospective. Then again, babies eat plastic toys...hmm.

Logic is my friend. A friend that doesn�t like me having other friends. And a lonely friend is he.

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!