Stuff And Things
2001-05-11 - 7:53 p.m.

I was going to write about the things on my desk just to get in with the trendosities, and realized that I don�t have very much stuff, being a neo-minimalist and all. So I�ve decided to cycle through all of my things that can be seen from my desk seat.

- Computer monitor, keyboard, mouse and alarm clock complex.

- Books for various classes, topped off by Hoher Als Die Kirche, giving me the illusion that I�d have spare time to read it soon.

- Chinese eviction notices that I picked up off the road in Phily.

- Picture of Becca, under a valentine�s candy heart that says �I miss you�.

- 2 liter half-empty bottle of Coca-Cola.

Sidenote: A half-glass of water is half-full, but a half-bottle of Coke is half-empty. Someone needs to explain the obvious and yet secretive ambiguous (and slightly redundantly repetitive) reason why this is.

- Whinnie the Pooh Happy Meal toys.

- An invitation to the Methodist-sponsored 7th Annual Multiple Sclerosis Garage Sale in June.

- Toothpaste and toothbrush. The toothbrush has been brutalized the toothpaste has been squeezed from the middle of the tube. Tsktsk.

- Eighteen-inch stuffed Screaming Gabon monkey named Snowballs (named by Amanda, for the anatomical difference between a snowman and a snowwoman).

- Foil wrapping from a cheeseburger I ate at Six Flaggs, with a �place sandwich here� message on the inside, informing the trained culinary employee where to stick it, just in case they had forgotten.

- James II, my Stafford jacket, and Jessica, my Canadian trenchcoat. They�re curled up in each other and cuddling on top of my dresser.

- That top rung from a ladder that says �Not A Step�.

- Picture of my cat, because I won�t be able to take him to Mass with me, and I�m gonna miss him.

- A blanket on my bed that my grandmother made, depicting different Aesop �s Fables.

- That blasted unsquare rubix cube, so close to perfection.

- Simon.

When I leave for college, I�m not taking half this stuff. The �junk of the moment� that I keep on my walls won�t have the same meaning to me after I leave...I�ll need to acquire totally new useless shyt to fill up my walls with.

Sir#1: *sitting in a chair, in the middle of a dark gym*

Sir#2: *Ahem*

Sir#1: *continued thoguhtfulness*

Sir#2: *walks in loudly, so as not to startle Sir#1* Excuse me, Sir. What act are you partaking, there in the middle of the gym floor?

Sir#1: I am partaking of dismal thoughfulness...I couldn�t think of a better place to think, so I�m thinking here.

Sir#2: Isee. If I was able pry a little farther, I�d question what you were thinking, Sir.

Sir#1: Oh, that wouldn�t be prying at all. I�m thinking about...stuff.

Sir#2: �Stuff� you say. Very heavy on one�s shoulders that �stuff� stuff is. I�m just glad you�re not a turkey, because if a turkey were to have as much stuff as you seem to, I fear it�d explode.

Sir#1: *smiles dryly* Such is not worth the eating...exploded turkey, I mean.

Sir#2: *sits cross-legged in front of Sir#1*

Narrator: And so passes a long pause, in which neither of the Sirs really has anything to say, but both are grateful of the presence of the other...

I went out to buy something to smoke today, being of legal age to do so. I found two things downtown...a couple Swisher Sweets and a tennis ball. The tennis ball, by farr, turned out to be more interesting. I walked back to school bouncing it off the ground, the whole way back to the dorms. I even gave it a name, Hary; and markered in little expressions on five of the sides, so I can what kind of a mood he�s in.

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!