A Weekend Of Simon And Luther
2001-03-04 - 14:16:10

Simon: *deep in thought; physical position: crusifiction.*

Sir#1: Mymy, you're looking mighty thoughtful today Sir, if I may say so myself.

Sir#2: Hmm? Oh, you may say so Sir; but I was merely trying to gut this popcorn-thingy out from betwixt my teeth with my tounge.

Sir#1: Oh, so sorry...and here I was, thinking there were thoughtful people in the world.

Sir#2: Shame on you, Sir, for thinking such wild thoughts! Now get back in the mind-mill with everyone else, there you go...

Sir#1: (muttering) There are some mighty distasteful values beyond the top of Maslov's heirarchy.

Sir#2: That there are, and we are it. So be a nice little consumer and gobble up the things I tell you you need to buy.

Sir#1: But Sir, I don't need to buy things like microwave popcorn. They will only casue more problems by becoming loged betwixt my teeth.

Sir#2: That is exactly the reason why you should buy floss and use it once a day! It gets rid of those nasty foodbits and noodlechunks that are unreachable otherwise...

Another Post-It (TM) note from Luther (taped the the right parietal this time, becasuse the left was full of word magnets):

"We hold the keys to our own destiny. Each person is their own god.

I am constantly asked why I do the things I do. And the reason I give each time is 'I dunno', because the real reason is much more complicated and I'd rather not waste my time explaining it. I do things becasue I Want to. At a given time, doing the thing that I'm doing is apealing to me...be it homework, writing, or chasing cars. This does not mean that I do whatever thing will grant me the most enjoyment at that time. I do homework because it is beneficial for me to do so. But I have been told that there are people that do homework because they 'Need' to. But Needs do not exist. If you don't Want to be in school, the front door is always open, you always have the choice. We are lead to believe that we Need to breathe oxygen to survive. This is a corruption on the idea that we Want to breathe. Our bodies like to breathe because not breathing is painful. If you couldn't breathe, you wouldn't Need to. And the Oonly reason our bodies breathe in an unconscious state because the brain stem is programmed to protect us from pain. Its a safty net to prevent pain to the body. And my belief is that it can be controlled. How can you justify the idea that your god-given corpreal bogy does not have full contol over it's actions? Everything in a person happens because of an interation with a catayst; just another chemical. The brain (directly or indirectly) controls the production and release of every chemical found in the body. Hence, if you can control your mind well enough, you can control the whole of the beast that is you. And you mind is nothing but a physical collection of programmed reponses. Consider for a moment that there are no instincts. An unborn baby's mental facilities at some point inside the womb are nearly non-existant. Eventually, the lungs start to pump. This is a defining point of consciousness, because the baby human has begun it's conditioning to brathe. Thoughout the infant's life, this conditioning will be enhanced, as the lungs continue to pump; every minute of every day. In the same manner, the snake learns to slither, the cat to fall on it's feet, and the fish to swing it's tail. They learn becasue they Want to; not becasue they are born with predisposed knowledge. Now we return to the issue of Wants. Each person controlls their own actions, regardless but partially dependant on the individual's enviroment. If you Want to pose as a hot-dog stand vender and blow your customer's heads off with a concealed shotgun, then by all means, go for it. But there are cetain demands [Wants] that each individual places on the society (companionship, physical contact, etc.), and hence the society on each individual. Without an individual's 'supply' to a culture there is no 'demand' for any particular venue of action. So evreyone would act upon their own personal long-term goals and desires [Wants] and merely expect everyone else to do the same. The catch to this seemingly chaotic society is that no one in the free-Wanting culture of individuals would Want to kill. If you kill somone, you will spend the rest of your life looking over your shoulder for the person who Wants to get revenge on you. If you attack the anethma, it will attack back. The people live in fear of the Wants of others, but realizing that their own freedoms are protected by the greatest force of man; The People.

-Luther"

Sidenote: This weekend goes down as one of the most boring in the history of recorded boring weekends.

"...But if your bored than you're boring; the agony and the irony, they're killin' me..." -Harvey Danger

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!