The Tear Gas Cafe
2001-02-20 - 13:31:27

MSN, February 17, 2001: A Kashmiri protester throws a tear-gas shell back at police officers during clashes in Srinagar on Feb. 16. One civilian was killed and a dozen others - including six police officers - were injured during clashes between police and pro-independence activists. I don�t have any heroes, but if I did, this man would be top on the list. Assuming he�s still alive.

When I get down to college in Massachusetts, I plan to spend one day each weekend hanging out with old friends. Those people you met in high school and never wanted to loose contact with, for no other reason than �just because�. I just wanted you to know...that if you do choose to goto college down there, there�s always a place for yas, at the coffeehouse on the other side of graduation. As a good friend and fellow Romantic, of course. I�ll be down there waiting for yas, complaining that I can�t drink out of anything other than a two liter bottle and wondering who I could get todo illustrations for my children�s books.

Speaking of which, I read �You Are Special� (by Max Lucado and Sergio Martinez) over vacation. Yes, this is what I want to do with my life, on the side. Minus the religious connotations and stooped title.

Sidenote: Religion is believing in someone that cares. Organized Religion is believing in someone who cares for everyone. Luther believes in a gun, Goblyn believes in himself. Let us pray for the well-being of our brothers. *praying sounds*

If I may refer back to the subject of coffeehouses and boneless spare ribs, I discovered something really fun todo in Chinese restaurants. Simply pretend to spill a little soda on your lap and have a second person dab it off with a napkin. See how many times you can do it until people start whispering.

�Whomsoever shall sow the seed of technological development in his environment shall also sow the seeds of discord, violence, woe and poverty [in that order].� �Nemo

�I slept with a sharpened pencil last night Aaron, and it wasn�t the most pleasant of things. So I would suggest making your bed, and not sleeping with a whole laptop...I know that that disk drive looks good, but when it comes down to it, there�s only three and a half inches inside there.� �Nemo

It�s really hard to get a scholarship of you�re a middle-class white-boy American who doesn�t play sports, and doesn�t spend his spare time helping people across the street. The nerds of America are being oppressed, but that�s nothing new. In fact, it might be that their oppression has lead them to be the most affluent members of today�s internet-based America.

I acquired an Intuitions (TM) card from Shop �n Save. The inside comment reads �The best things in life aren�t things� What a great statement. On that note, I believe I rediscovered the roots of human psychology. I�m going to start work with PROLOG again...

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!