FAFSA And Other Sticky Acronyms
2001-02-16 - 23:34:44

A few weeks ago, I was looking through some of my older writing. When I was a little person, I was a damn good writer. And I don�t mean that in a compared-to-my-7-year-old-peers way. A couple of the things I wrote blow the stuff that I�m writing now out of the water (or to the bottom of the Article Circle, to make a Russian analogy). In first grade I wrote a paragraph about listening to my mind grow inside my head...I also wrote a 34-page (half illustrations) personal narrative in which my whole family was eaten by sharks, drowned, burned to death, or just disappeared. In second grade I wrote a 100-page (again, a lot of illustrations) collaborative story with one of my friends about mechanical half-dragons and a wolf-guy. �The Colour Green�, a quest for a word that rhymes with orange, spliced with frog princes. For a few years after that, I didn�t do anything really worthy of note...just an unfinished story about a guy named Max and invasion of interstellar fruit and a poem about Kemit the Frog (TM) assigning fly-catching permits to tadpoles. In eighth grade, I wrote what I consider the defining moment in my writing, �Ted�. And it pretty much goes haywire from there.

the Sixth United Clergywomen�s Consolation. No comment. Just read the capitals.

I think they make you seal the FAFSA envelope with licky-sticky stuff rather than sticky-sticky stuff just so that they can have a sample of your saliva. If they doesn�t like your saliva, they gives you no money. All that circle-filling, and all they do is look at the spit you sealed it with, jeesh.

I have concluded that (although it makes a nice thought) it�s impossible to have sex in Coca-Cola. Corrosive acids don�t really make the best mediums for showing someone you like their company. And to really keep the carbonation, the Coke would have to be cold...the possibilities of shrivelage are appalling.

I was playing with my non-square rubix cube yesterday, and I got really close to solving it. I resisted the urge to mess with the stickers...but I got it so that only two of the stickers are mixed up, so it�s very tempting.

I�m leaving today for I-don�t-know-where, on the bus I-don�t-know-which, to see I-don�t-know-who, and I really have no idea what time I�ll be seeing them. But I�m taking a little vacation from the white box...I might be able to put up a Little Black Book story when I return. Until we meet again. Shalom.

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!