Utopia In 346 Words Or Less
2001-02-06 - 04:18:34

I was mentally two years ahead of the game when I was in eighth grade, so I repressed my freshman and sophomore years to reach an equilibrium with my chronological age�until today, I was living the mental life of myself when I was fifteen�

�And I was thinkin� �bout how everyone was dyin�, and maybe it�s time to live...� �Eels

Sollertree mentioned an Eels song to me that I hadn�t heard before, but I had the cd for it...I had bought the cd to support the band, and haven�t even listened to it because I have all my music on mp3s. So I went on a rampage and acquired all of the Eels songs, even their covers and the non-album tracks...happyme.

I designed another utopia today. Little square residences in a square nation with a highly structured (free) transit system, maybe underground trolleys. Every so many acres would be sectioned off into districts with they�re own network hub, transit entrance, recreation building, and genetic lab. The network hubs would provide the citizens with T3 network connections, keeping them updated on recent information, and reminding them of the screwed-up-ness of the rest of the world. Transit systems would eliminate the use of cars and the consequent pollution, while providing the people a means to keep in contact with one another. The recreation buildings would include free computer terminals, games, discarded items for reuse in inventions, and books to quench the curiosity of bored people. The genetic labs would produce more citizens, unable to reproduce physically, at a rate of four people a day. Each group of four people would move into a house and live as a family unit, while volunteer family units from the society would raise them. The whole society raises each person individually, so that the children will grow up with objective, open minds and a gambit of personal views. None of the citizens work unless working to provide themselves with food and entertainment. Basically, the idea is that if any individual doesn�t socialize with the rest of the culture, they are shunned and die (one way or another). Being rude at the diner table would be a social crime, ensuring that the inhabitants would not even consider worse crimes. Everyone keeps everyone else in line, and there�s no media to tell anyone how to think. They could do all the drugs they want, but eventually everyone realizes that drugs just aren�t worth the personal price you pay for them. Every person would feel responsible to clean up after themselves, because of their distaste for cleaning up after others. Then I considered the actual goal of having such a society. And there really was none. Without a trained army or national defenses to protect the people, other countries would take advantage of the nation�s weakness.

�The Marlboro Man died of cancer...and he wasn�t a rocket scientist when he was healthy, ha-ha-ha...� �Harvey Danger

We�re all a little racist, we�re all a little gay. If we weren�t, we�d never be able to tell the difference between people, we�d all look like the Blue Men (on the Pentium commercials) to everyone else. (I was going to expand on this idea, but I suddenly realized that you understood it the first time).

I�m bleeding.

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!