the rants go marching one by one, hoorah, hoorah...
2000-11-13 - 20:48:26

Some people say that I remind them of the lead character in Clockwork Orange. There may be more to that statement than they realize...I closed my eyes, but couldn�t stop the thoughts...

I was accused of plagiarism today. Not that I had stolen someone�s work, but that I had *gasp* left my computer on and open to a word document I was typing, a ten-page take-home test that�s worth a big wampum chunk of my grade in that class. For the record, if I get a zero on this test because some other (insert your own personal choice of derogatory comments here) wanted to copy a little of my test, a couple sentences...I�ll...I�ll...fail the class for the semester. I�m failing Mythic by a couple points, Calculus by a couple fractions of a point, and am probably just under passing in physics too. Why am I doing the extra work, to get a failing grade? I�m starting to ask myself what the point is...why do I even bother going to school? I came here for the conversations, I came here to get to know more interesting people, to be stimulated into achieving something more. And last year, it worked. In fact, I damn near got all As last year. But there isn�t anyone here for me...no one seems real. And consequently, school doesn�t seem to be really worth it.

I realize that I didn�t fully cover some things that I started to mention yesterday. The first that comes to mind now was the math enrichment thing. Well, one of the fifth graders, Kate, did a really good job on her math problems. She finished in record time, went on to the sixth grade problems, and was doing a reasonably complicated worksheet by the end of the class. Then I realized that she is the daughter of one of the math teachers at my school. He double-majored in philosophy and math...and his chief theory is that is you raise your standards, children will raise to meet them. Good luck Kate.

Last night when I was smoking, a car drove by slowly. I was standing on the edge of a very small dam in the middle of town, trench coat curling up behind me. I didn�t think anything of it until the car stopped up the road, with it�s lights facing me. I still had a couple drags left, but I walked in front of a tree to drop it and smooch it out with my sole. I dunno who it was.

Sidenote: Davemann, kinda take me off your links. I should be a bit more cautious about who reads this, because I�d rather not have (you know who) reading this.

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!