my cup overfloweth
2000-10-29 - 13:19:16

Today is a painful day, the damn-I-shouldn�t-have-headbanged-that-much-last-night day, in which the after-concert effects are felt. Judging from how much funn I had last night, and how much my head already hertz, I�ll be opening the Sixth Seal by midnight tonight.

Sir#1: I must ask Sir, do you think the cup is half empty or half full?

Sir#2: I think that depends on whose cup it is.

Sir#1: Nono, I mean, are you the type of person who looks at the bright side of everything, or the dark side of everything?

Sir#2: Wel, assuming that death and life are part of �everything�, a person can look at both the bright side of death and the dark side of life, can they not? And you shouldn�t be so narrow-minded as to break all of humanity into two groups. I�m sure there are many people who see a glass as either half empty or half full, and some that don�t see the glass at all.

Sir#1: But logically, does it make more sense to you to be optimistic or pessimistic?

Sir#2: To answer that question, we first have to answer the rudimentary question of whether a brain that is half decided is half empty of half full.

Sir#1: Isee, like �I had half a mind to woop thet guy�s ass as checkers, but I jest couldn�t bring myslef to it, because he was blind.�

Sir#2: Exactly. But you must note that whenever the words �I have half a mind to� come up in a sentence, it means that person didn�t do whatever it was that they had half a mind to do.

Sir#1: So the real question is whether the person who has made up half their mind has a half empty or half full mind.

Sir#2: Righteo. I do believe that the person who has half a mind to do something doesn�t follow through with the something because they are discouraged from doing the something. And it is also my personal view that people who are happy and not discouraged by daily life are the people that smile and dive into a something, whenever they get the chance to do so.

Sir#1: Because they haven�t had the conditioning that comes from the consequences of taking those risks?

Sir#2: Partly. But they�re also not as �downbeat� by simply living. If they were, they might be so overtaken by it that they refuse to have funn.

Sir#1: So it is better to be optimistic because it is beneficial?

Sir#2: Yes, but looking at the �half a mind� example, we can see that people are not naturally optimistoic in our society. People get the subliminal idea that every cup is half empty, even if it�s more full than empty. What they need to do is to break out of that grain of thinking. To better their minds so that their minds can better themselves.

Sir#1: But...it�s all just chemicals in the brain.

Sir#2: *sigh*

You ever notice how close the words �fuck you� and �thank you� are? And �please and� and �easy�? After you say grace, if you replace, people might be offended, people might be befriended. Just say your �easy fuck you�s if you want the food to come your way, on a food-fight kind of day.

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!