Jake The Alien
2000-08-16 - 17:22:35

If I weren't me, I would definitely enjoy my diary. The circular logic is appalling, to say the least. But then again, if I weren't me, I probably would never stumble across the diary that wouldn't be mine, to read what I hadn't wrote. And then again, is it possible that anyone else would be able to write my diary? So it is altogether too impossible, which is okay with me, because it is The Way.

I learned yesterday from an old WSJ (Wall Street Journal) that the EPA (Environmental Protection Agency) is buffing up security. Which is a good thing, because they've been hacked virtually non-stop since 1998, until the early part of this year, when the FBI (Federal Bureau of Investigation) finally noticed. One hacker in late 1998 set up a chat room on an EPA server, so s/he could have converse with the multitudes of others hacking into that specific branch of the government. But what were the hackers gonna do with the EPA? Misinform them that the white rhino is no longer an endangered species? Oooo. But I wouldn't be surprised if there's a backdoor to the FBI through the EPA systems. And that could actually be worth something.

Found something today. A journal-on-disk written by my late Step-mother's father. This man was Santa Claus. Seriously; if I had a scanner, I'd show you. He had the bowl-full-of-jelly, and the beard white as snow, and the suit. Not to mention the license plate, or the sleigh that he kept in his garage. And he did give really good presents on Christmas. But anyways, this man died in my house. Died of cancer, because he refused to go through chemotherapy. And now I know why. It's all in the journal.

In News Yesterday: the EPA gets some attention, And my congrats. For the past several years, large businesses have been dispensing of oil waste through the Portland-Bangor Waste Oil Co. (TM). Then said company dumped the oil illegally, and no one knew about it for a couple dozen years. So if the owners of these businesses do not fork up eight million dollars to help clean this mess up, the EPA gets their big brother, the US Department of Justice, to sue their asses. So down with the unlawful corporations, and up with environmental safety. Go EPA. And Go for that little hacker that made the EPA get off it's ass.

In News The Day Before Yesterday: The Russian nuclear submarine, the Kursk, sunk yesterday. It didn't have any nuclear weapons on board at the time, and it was not playing demo wargames with US ships at the time. But it hit something, and sunk. Maybe it hit a chunk of ice, maybe it hit another Russian ship, maybe it ran into Dave Berry's Bloated Head (TM). But regardless of what it hit, 100 sailors are trapped between Russia and the North Pole. You know, if the US got it's head out of it's ass, it could help those sailors. But they're too tangled up with who Bush's VP is, and what Clinton said at his rally, and why Gore's VP is *gasp* a Jew...to notice. But at any rate, when the Russians build something that doesn't fall apart, I'll make it known. Until then: *100 good sailors die as Clinton hollers to the crowd 'Vote for Gore!', and maybe he's right*

You can be that little voice on my shoulder, and I'll take up a residence in your pocket...

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!