Family Outing, Part Deux
2000-08-04 - 20:21:18

'this paint-by-numbers life, is fuCing with my head...'

Someone decided yesterday that they wanted to see a Shakespeare show. We've actually been planning to see "Shakespeare on the River" for some time now. But someone up and decided we should go right then.

'...people say that back then, she really wasn't that crazy...'

Around five, we were ready to leave for the theatre. (This is, of course, very good, because we almost left on time, rather than the typical 'hour later than desired'.) We all piled into our designated seats; I sit in the middle. Somehow my father ended up driving. First of all, I would like to state that my father is a better talker than driver. And a farr better screaming-angry-confused person than a talker (actually, he's not much of a talker at all, which doesn't say good things about his driving).

'...sometimes I dream about it, what it's like back home...'

So shortly after we got into the van, chaos erupts, with lotsa hollering and whatnot. There's a disagreement on where we should stop for food on the way. McDonalds, Subway, Burger King. Step-mother insists that we stop at all three, knowing that Burger King is the farthest outta the way, and she just wants to please 'her' kid. Father insists on NOT stopping at three places, because of the driving.

'...too good for this world, but I hope you will stay...'

Sister eventually changes her mind, and decides to go with McDonalds as well. By the time we get to Burger King, Step-sister has changed her mind, and wants to go to Subway. More chaos, and she changes her mind back to Burger King, just as we are about to leave. Burger King forgets to give us nearly half of what we ordered.

'...and I don't need you tellin' me how...'

A short while afterward, we're on the road, or shall I say, the highway. There's a really nasty argument going on, but I don't seem to notice. Amid the chaos I seem to find something. Order. Peace. Enlightenment. My own private oasis of utopia. A feeling that makes me think Maslov forgot a level of his Egyptian-esque hierarchy. And then my thoughts reached the event horizon of my mind's pan-dimensional rift, and my thoughts afterward are lost...

'...that comes from livin' in a world that's so damn...'

What's really strange, is that this is how ALL of our 'family trips' are. Somehow, Father always gets to drive, and the parents are always ripping at each other's throats. Sister and Step-sister sit in the back, headphones blasting, occasionally stopping their music so they can follow the example of their parents, and argue with each other. Then there's a monkey on the middle, smiling like it's his dying day.

'...turn the ugly light off, god...'

And we drive on. My father somehow manages to swerve on a fairly consistent basis. Step-mother offers to show Father some pictures they took of my Step-brother's graduation from college in New Yerk. Father insists to flipp through the pictures himself, going 75 down the highway the whole time.

'...everyone needs to be somebody, everyone needs to find someone who cares...'

I used to leave my seat-belt off, just because it increased my chances of major injury or death if we ever actually got in an accident. But I promised Vicki I'd wear it, at least while there's an incapable driver's in the front seat.

'...they say I'm mental 'cuz I'm not amused by it all...'

More swerving. Father notices himself driving on the rumble strip several dozen times, and fails to notice a few others, as he drools over photographs of his step-son's former girlfriend. Overall, I'm just glad they make highways more-or-less straight.

'...I walk through the world with your name on my tongue, and your picture etched on my screen...'

More screaming. Father says something like "Is this about how much I love you?!?", Step-mother says "This is about how much you love US!". Somewhere in the background, my voice says "ooo, plural." They've had farr too many marriage councilors.

10 x = volume of cd player

20 y = volume of people in vehicle

30 IF x <= y GOTO 50

40 IF x > y GOTO 60

50 x + 1 = x; GOTO 30

60 END

'...and no one will know my name until it's on a stone...'

Anyways, we got to the show alive enough. It was The Comedy of Errors, as preformed by the Penobscot Theatre Company. And it was a really good show. I might even go as farr to say it was worth the drive. Then we had a three-hour drive back home.

'...Friday, five-sixteen, pea-em...'

god bless the Eels, if s/he hasn't already.

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!