vodka and snow
2000-07-14 - 7:27:35

My dad came to visit today, he dropped off a razor and the day's paper. Very interesting. As if they weren't highlighted enough, I would like to make some comments on the front-page material. Hmm, a death tax. Interesting idea. Basically, the person who is supposed to inherit your money when you die pays a bigger portion of it to the government. Big whoopdi. However, the reason why they are doing this is to "temporarily suspend the federal gas tax". So the price of gas does not go down in the next couple years, it stays as high as it is now, with lotsa people complaining, and then begins to increase again after 2010, so the government is getting more money from both taxes. Hoorah. In other news, someone was beaten by a mob of cops on Wednesday; Thomas Jones. And the big issue here is 'was this a racially provoked incident?'. In my mind, who cares. The issue here should not be racism, it's the person's personal rights. We should be saying to ourselves 'was this a case of mistreatment by the police?'. If it was, damn the cops. If it wasn't, damn the man. I would just like to say that it shouldn't take 11 bluecoats very long to apprehend a suspect without beating the crap out of him. I would also like to say that he shot at and wounded one cop, and stole a car, so he may have deserved what he got. Let's see, and there's a blurb here about a woman who started a fire. The fire killed six firefighters. Lets think about this. She didn't set the fire in a building with firefighters in it. The building was probably abandoned. She didn't ask the firefighters to go stomping through it and kill themselves. So why isn't she being charged for arson, and not a six-person murder? And the last editorial...an unopposed candidate, running for an office in this state, lost. He didn't get any votes, not one. You think the guy would at least vote for himself. I wonder what would happen if nobody voted for the president? (maybe that would convince Powell to run.) *go upstairs and light up while my father leaves, again* hmm. He didn't say 'thanks for vacuuming', or 'thanks for doing the trash'. He didn't thank me for washing the floors or cleaning the bathrooms or doing laundry and the dishes while he was gone. In fact, he bitched at me for NOT doing the dishes, because I had my dishes from lupper (a meal around 3pm) on the counter.

'jason, I can't understand why you don't clean up around here, I mean, I'm giving you an allowance, and most kids don't even get that.'

(sometimes I wonder what makes him think that he's right) 'aren't you discontinuing my allowance halfway through my next school year?'

'well, yea...'

"my vodka and snow is melting, the alcohol isn't helping..." -Harvey Danger

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!