? & -
2000-06-19 - 13:69:82

"Do you know why you are here?"

"Yea, so you can poke me, prod me, and stick me in a pigeon box-"

"I don't know what you mean, could you elaborate on that?"

"A pigeon box, like Skinner. He put pigeons in boxes, to make them do things-"

"And how are you like a pigeon?"

"You want to find out what makes me like I am-"

"Do you feel like a pigeon now?"

"No. It was an analogy-"

"Do you feel like you have been flying, and now have a place to stand?"

"No-"

"Do you know why you are here?"

"No, can you elaborate-"

"Are you here to take a creativity test?"

"Yea, I suppose that's it-"

"Can we play a game then?"

"Sure-"

"I'll say a word, and you can respond to it with another word, okay?"

"And the point is-"

"Is it blank?"

"I thought you would tell me-"

"Do you think it's blank?"

"I don't see the point-"

"Ice , that's the word, alright?"

"Mongoose-"

"How did you get from ice to mongoose?"

"From the prefix mon-, meaning one, and the word goose-"

"And how did you get to one goose from ice?"

"Through the farm-"

"Does this farm have a barn?"

"No, the farm is a locus of animals-"

"So where do you get the goose?"

"All the other animals were taken-"

"What other animals?"

"The dog, cat, mouse, cheese, cow, pig-"

"And all these animals are taken?"

"Yes-"

"How are they taken?"

"They take each other-"

"What takes what?"

"The dog takes the cat, the cat takes the mouse, the mouse takes the cheese, the cheese takes the cow-"

"Why does the cheese take the cow?"

"In a desperate attempt to regain what it lost, to go back whence it came-"

"And what does the cow take?"

"The grass-"

"And the grass?"

"The ground-"

"The ground?"

"The pig-"

"Which takes?"

"Laziness-"

"And laziness takes?"

"The farmer-"

"What does the farmer take?"

"The dog, for a walk-"

"Then where's the goose?"

"The goose stands alone-"

"Because no one takes the goose?"

"Yes, there is only one goose-"

"How did you get from ice to a farm?"

"Ice is cold-"

"And a farm is cold?"

"No, Jack Frost is cold-"

"And what about frost?"

"The frost is made by Jack-"

"And Jack?"

"Jack knows a giant-"

"Jack and the beanstalk?"

"Yes, and Jack lives on a farm-"

"And from there, you get to mongoose through the farm?"

"Yes-"

"Can you try to figure out this rubix cube?"

"If you want me to-"

"Have you solved a cube like this before?"

"Not yet-"

"Can I ask you a question?"

"I don't see why not-"

"What do you think intelligence is?"

"Intelligence is a set of algorithms, that are learned through experience, and an algorithm is learned, you can solve the opposing problem every time-"

"So can all the algorithms be learned?"

"That algorithm will never be learned, because you would have to know all the algorithms to count them, and you can't know them all if you don't know how many there are, because that is the algorithm you are trying to find-"

"So what is gained by learning the algorithms?"

"I think the more I learn, the better I see things-"

"Like colours?"

"Yes, I see colour as combinations of simpler colours, which are made of basic elements-"

"How else do they help you?"

"Oh, I finished the rubix cube-"

"Do you think you did it faster than average?"

"I have nothing to compare-"

"I see; how else do the algorithms help you?"

"They help me live-"

"How do they help you live?"

"By making everything clearer-"

"What does it make clearer to you?"

"Reality, science, love-"

"Love?"

"Yes, love has basic components as well-"

"What are the basic components of love?"

"Beauty, cuteness, squueges, union-"

"Can you please elaborate?"

"Beauty is the aesthetically pleasing quality of love, cuteness is the quality of a person to be cute, which has more to do with the person's attitude than their appearance-"

"Can you explain squueges?"

"A squuege is a feeling one gets that is a cross between a warm fuzzy caterpillar and a tight hug-"

"What about union?"

"Union is the connection between two things which makes them love one another-"

"Like a bond between them?"

"Yes, their similarities and differences, their quirks and the appreciation the other has for those quirks-"

"Can anything be broken down into more basic components?"

"Possibly, it seems like a recursive fractal pattern-"

"Does creativity break down into simpler pieces?"

"Creativity is an algorithm for randomness, which is learned from a depravity of randomness-"

"So boredom causes creativity?"

"Yes, in a manner of speaking-"

"What causes us?"

"I guess I'm a little confused-"

"What causes us, the question and answer, the doubt and reinforcement, trial and error?"

"I am unfamiliar with the algorithm, I do not know-"

what was | soliloquy | the magic lamphouse | days of the old | Topics. | Revelations: | Luther:: | Alien Tofu | JLS (index)

it's a different game every time you play!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!